Almost Lover

If music be the food of love,

Make me deaf, so my heart will starve

And never suffer the torments of cupid’s arrows.

 

Don’t compare me to a summer’s day.

I will only drown in the storm that follows

And be blinded by the clouds of sorrow.

 

Nights are hardest as the tears start falling

When the memories bring in the pain.

But no thought of you can restore that loss

Nor bring the sorrows to an end.

 

This love is not rare, not it will ever be

For us both will find another.

I am not the moon of your life

Nor you my sun and the stars

So goodbye, my almost lover.

 

About the painting – “Bride of the Wind” by Oskar Kokoschka

5 thoughts on “Almost Lover

Leave a Reply

